Club | 08/03/2018

70 years of 1. FC Köln

Two Goats, Three Titles

To celebrate the 70th birthday of the club, a look back at the respective decades of the club will be released each Thursday on Following a successful decade that saw the founding of the Bundesliga, 1. FC Köln continued with more titles in the 70s.

1. FC Köln had a strong team in the first half of the 1970s, but new additions to the trophy cabinet came at a later point. The early stages of the decade featured more runner-ups than anything. The decade began with a defeat in the 1970 DFB-Pokal Cup final against second division side Kickers Offenbach. One year later, FC was once again in the Cup final, but this time against FC Bayern Munich. The result was once again a defeat. The Cup final in 1973 against Borussia Mönchengladbach also went in favor of the opponents. The same ear saw FC become runner-up in the Bundesliga. It was not until the return of Hennes Weisweiler in the 1976/77 season that the trophies would return to Geissbockheim.

DFB-Pokal Win in 1977

The 28 May 1977 sees 1. FC Köln meet Hertha BSC in the German Cup final. After playing out a 120-minute 1-1 draw, the match was scheduled to be replayed just two days later (a penalty shoot-out was not used at the time). The replayed match, at the Niedersachsenstadion in Hannover, was decided by FC striker Dieter Müller, who scored with a diving header to secure the trophy for 1. FC Köln.

1978: The Double

The 1978 German Cup final saw reigning champions 1. FC Köln face Fortuna Düsseldorf at the Parkstadion in Gelsenkirchen. Due to the city rivalry between Cologne and Düsseldorf, the match had a special meaning for both sets of fans. The opponents had their fair of chances, but the breakthrough came when Bernd Cullmann scored the go-ahead goal in the 71st minute with his head. Just before the final whistle, Roger van Gool struck to make it 2-0 and secure the trophy for 1. FC Köln.

Dieter Müller (left) in the 1978 DFB-Pokal final against Fortuna Düsseldorf.

The Bundesliga season did not lack excitement with the result coming down to the final match day. 1. FC Köln and Borussia Mönchengladbach were tied on points going into their respective matches, but FC had a far superior goal difference. A win would FC would secure the league title. Gladbach went on to win with an astonishing 12-0 result against BVB, but FC breezed by St. Pauli with a 5-0 win to secure the championship. It was the first Double of the club’s history.

  • share


Total table
13Hertha BSC26
141. FC Köln23
151. FSV Mainz 0522